San Jose, California – August 25, 2014. Manny’s Cellar holds a special place in the hearts of many San Jose residents. Formerly occupying the basement of the historic Fallon House, Manny’s Cellar served as the ultimate lunch destination for some many who worked downtown from 1962–when the restaurant opened–until it closed in 1990. The Fallon House Historic Site is operated by History San José and provides educational programming to over 10,000 school children each year.
This fall, the Return of Manny’s Cellar for one night only will be held on Friday, September 26 from 5:30pm-9:30pm. Each $75 ticket will cover live entertainment, dinner, and wine. Cocktails can be purchased at the bar. Tommy Taylor, former bartender at Manny’s Cellar, will be on hand to share stories with old friends.
Proceeds from this event benefit educational programs at History San José. Sponsorship opportunities of this special event are also available – please contact Michelle Powers at 408.521.5016 or email@example.com.
To purchase your ticket, please register online: http://historysanjose.ejoinme.org/mannys.
The Fallon House was built in 1855 by one of San José’s earliest mayors. The Victorian mansion showcases 15 fully-furnished rooms typical of the Victorian period. Thomas Fallon was a frontiersman in the John C. Fremont expedition, and Carmel Fallon was the daughter of one of the most prominent Mexican landowners in California.
The Peralta Adobe is San José’s oldest address. Built in 1797, the Peralta Adobe is the last remaining structure from El Pueblo de San José de Guadalupe. See the Adobe’s horno, an outside working oven or venture inside the home and see two rooms furnished as they might have been when they were occupied by the Gonzales and Peralta families. It is now surrounded by the new San Pedro Square Market.